F6 Display Intensity

View previous topic View next topic Go down

What is your opinion?

75% 75% 
[ 9 ]
0% 0% 
[ 0 ]
25% 25% 
[ 3 ]
 
Total Votes : 12

F6 Display Intensity

Post  dforrest on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 12:56 pm

Perhaps I will get more of a response from here than on UKTS.

I would be interested in MSTS user's views on the feature in MSTS where the station names (and those of other locations) display given by pressing F6 is of the greatest intensity when you are at the location is dimmed gradually the further away from the location you are.

Do you consider the gradual dimming and brightening of the display to be useful in running activities, or just a "gimmick"?

_________________
David
avatar
dforrest

Posts : 423
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 72
Location : St. Vincent and the Grenadines (and in an earlier life, Hull)

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  slipperman12 on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 2:31 pm

Hi David,
I've just cast my vote here (also, the other day, on UKTS!)
I find it most useful, especially when running / testing activities on routes I'm not familiar with.

I know this isn't an Open Rails Forum, but I find their implementation of this facility really confusing Rolling Eyes Shocked 

Cheers,
Ged

slipperman12

Posts : 1296
Join date : 2013-01-29
Age : 75
Location : North Nottinghamshire

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  rufuskins on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 3:38 pm

I don't always have it on, but if I do then the change in intensity is useful as an additional gauge.


ALEC - Supporter of MSTS and TSSH!

rufuskins

Posts : 3409
Join date : 2013-01-17
Age : 69
Location : Milnrow, Lancashire

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  andrew moody on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 6:19 pm

Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed  Just done something very stupid , Without looking at the thread properly.
I opted for the Never use it section, (Blonde Moment) So I am therefore one of those two votes.

Of course I use it nearly all of the timew to flash up stations and loops that I am not sure of.
What a prize dunce:roll: 
er:Embarassed   Is there any chance of my vote being moved to the very useful section at the top please.
Mind you, even if it can't, It looks as if the very useful vote is in the lead.
Cheers
Andy


Andy Moody (AKA AJ52MDY on the UKTS site) West Moors, Dorset on the "Old Road" closed September 1964

andrew moody

Posts : 376
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 67
Location : West Moors Dorset UK

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  dforrest on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 6:24 pm

Ged, you are one set ahead of me in the conclusion. That is the purpose of the vote.

-------------------
David
avatar
dforrest

Posts : 423
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 72
Location : St. Vincent and the Grenadines (and in an earlier life, Hull)

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  35005CP on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 6:30 pm

I've just cast my vote and I do find it useful every now and then.. I just don't use it all the time.
Cheers
Andy


Andy - TSSH Footplate Crew
avatar
35005CP

Posts : 1617
Join date : 2013-01-23
Age : 39
Location : East Sussex

http://nineelms.freeforum.me.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  StephenRWells on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 8:19 pm

Hi,

I normally only use it during freight activity creation/testing when it is useful to note down the next station ready for recording the passing time. This helps with setting up all the ai traffic as very often running a freight activity through the AE cannot give real time running. Using the F6 display also checks you are in the correct siding - it can be very easy to set the path up incorrectly with disastrous results.

That is what I posted on UKTS the other day.
The MSTS version is also less intrusive than the OR version.

It gets a very useful vote from me.

Stephen


avatar
StephenRWells

Posts : 439
Join date : 2013-07-15
Age : 66
Location : Arncott,Oxfordshire

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  neanderthal on Mon 25 Nov 2013, 12:14 pm

Hello David.I've already voted on UKTS,so my opinion remains the same,I find it very useful when exploring Routes,but think in places the information is a tad to much.If I may use the same example I would still say,"Its great to know you are approaching Kings Cross,but by the time you are actually entering the Station you can't see it for the writing". Cool  Regards Roger


Roger
avatar
neanderthal

Posts : 787
Join date : 2013-04-30
Location : Gwent

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  dforrest on Mon 25 Nov 2013, 12:21 pm

neanderthal wrote:............... ,but think in places the information is a tad to much.If I may use the same example I would still say,"Its great to know you are approaching Kings Cross,but by the time you are actually entering the Station you can't see it for the writing". Cool  Regards Roger
I agree. My pet hate is when numerous listings of static consists are shown. I am told that these are for the use of activity writers but they do make the use of the F6 display to assist in navigation when running an activity almost impossible.

-----------------------
David
avatar
dforrest

Posts : 423
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 72
Location : St. Vincent and the Grenadines (and in an earlier life, Hull)

Back to top Go down

Re: F6 Display Intensity

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum